The healing springs in the area of the current spa were according to legend discovered by a lame shepherd looking for a stray sheep. When searching for the sheep, he found a lake, from which a sulfuric odor was spreading.
After a few baths, he noticed that the sheep was getting better, so he decided to immerse his aching limbs in the warm waters of the lake.
The reputation of miraculous water thus began to spread. Suffering ill people came from all sides to bathe in the healing waters of the springs.
The first record of the hot springs is from 1247. During the thirteenth to sixteenth century, Trenčianske Teplice, as well as the springs, were owned by the rulers of the Trenčín Castle. Although it is assumed that the springs should have already been known to the Quad nations as well as the Roman legions in the 2nd century.
The greatest contribution to the development of spa in Trenčianske Teplice was brought by the llésházy family who owned the spa for 241 years. At those times, it was one of the leading spas in Austrian – Hungarian Monarchy.
In 1835 the spa was bought by a Viennese financier George Sina, who rebuilt it and modernized it. His son Simon built a hotel and expanded the spa park, in 1888 his daughter Iphigenia let the most valuable historical monument preserved to this day, the Hammam spa in oriental Moorish style build to the mirror room Sina.